Saint Petersburg City Guide

Alexander Nevsky Monastery, Saint Petersburg

The Alexander Nevsky Monastery complex is home to some of the oldest buildings in the city, as well as to cemeteries which contain the graves of some of the giants of Russian culture, including Tchaikovsky, Dostoevsky, and Glinka.

The monastery was founded in July 1710 – seven years after the foundation of Petersburg – by Peter the Great near to the spot where contemporary Swedish maps showed the Swedish fort Landskrona had stood.

In 1712, the first church was built, in wood, on the site of the future monastery, and consecrated in Peter’s presence on March 25, 1713. The monastery began working shortly afterward. In 1724, a new church, designed by Italian architect Domenico Trezzini, was consecrated.

The new church was named for Alexander Nevsky – considered a saint by the Russian Orthodox Church – whose remains were brought to the church from the ancient city of Vladimir, in a journey that took several months. The day the remains were moved into the new church was celebrated each year as a holiday.

By the beginning of the 20th century the territory of the monastery complex was home to an impressive 16 churches. Today, only five survive: the Holy Trinity Cathedral, the Church of the Annunciation, the Church of St. Lazarus, the Church of St. Nicholas, and the Church of the Holy Mother of God, the Joy of All Those who Mourn, which is over the monastery gates.